Philippines Visa

Entry Visas for Philippines

Featuring emerald rice fields, imposing volcanoes, and white-sanded beaches, the Philippines is a stunning country that attracts more and more visitors each year.

Before booking a trip, it is necessary to verify its entry requirements and Philippines visa requisites. Not all travelers are required to obtain a visa to the Philippines. However, travelers who need a Philippines visa should apply with a valid passport and in advance.

Do you need a visa to travel to the Philippines?

Whether you need a visa to visit the Philippines or not will depend on your country of citizenship. The visa policy of the Philippines is governed by the Commonwealth Act Nr. 63 also referred to as the Philippines Immigration Act. The visa policy is enforced by the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Bureau of Immigration.

The Philippines does have a visa waiver program that was signed back in 1960, which has been amended over time. The program is administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs. Nationals of countries that maintain diplomatic relations with the Philippines are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa.

Visa-free travelers to the Philippines are expected to hold a valid passport for at least six months beyond their expected stay in the country.

Citizens from the following countries do not require an entry visa for the Philippines:

– The Philippines visa is not required for stays of up to 59 days:

  • Brazil
  • Israel

– The visa Philippines is not required for stays of up to 30 days:

All European Union citizens:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Other Countries:

  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brunei
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • DR Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

– The visa to Philippines is not required for stays of up to 14 days:

  • Hong Kong
  • Macau
  • Portugal

The Philippines also offers a visa on arrival (for a fee), that grants a stay of up to 59 days, to the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Egypt
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Sierra Leone
  • Serbia
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Ukraine
  • Yemen

Who needs a visa for the Philippines?

Very few countries need to apply for a visa for the Philippines for short term stays. The Philippines has two categories of visas available:

  • Non-immigrant visas for the Philippines: visa can be obtained for temporary visits that include tourism, transit, business, study or employment.
  • An immigrant visa to the Philippines: for the Philippines is designed for foreign nationals who wish to become permanent residents in the country.

Foreign nationals who wish to travel to the Philippines will need to obtain a visa unless:

  • They are a citizen of an ASEAN member state
  • They are a balikbayan (a person of Filipino origin who lives outside the Philippines) and is only returning to the Philippines temporarily
  • They are a citizen from a visa exempt country

At this time, there’s a Philippines electronic travel authorization  (Philippines eTA) available for citizens of Taiwan. This Philippines eVisa or eTA (also known as the Philippines online visa)  can be easily obtained by completing an online form. Applicants will need a valid passport, an email address and a debit or credit card to cover the cost of the online visa for the Philippines.

Philippines online visa

Currently, only the citizens of Taiwan may apply for an entry permit by completing a form through the Philippines Electronic Travel Authorization System. The eTA Philippines is currently only available for holders of Taiwan passports with a validity period of six months beyond the intended stay in the Philippines.

Once the eVisa for the Philippines or Philippines online visa is approved, should be printed on an A4 paper to present upon arrival. The traveler must present the Philippines eVisa and a valid Taiwan passport to the Philippine Immigration Official at a port of entry.

The eTA Philippines does not guarantee automatic entry into the country. Philippine immigration officials may still refuse admission if they find that the traveler is violating Philippines immigration laws, rules, and regulations concerning visitors.

Note: In the next months the Philippines online visa (eTA) will be applied to more countries.